The Library holds a wide range of collections on individuals such as Wal Hannington, Phil Piratin, James Connolly, Noreen and Clive Branson and Helen Crawfurd, and organisations such as the British Soviet Friendship Society, the British Czechoslovak Friendship League and the China Campaign Committee.

The Marx Memorial Library holds a wide ranging collection of archives of individual activists and revolutionaries including the following: - Wal Hannington - Phil Piratin - Mary Seaton (biographer of…
The Library holds a unique collection of pamphlets, all of which are searchable on our online catalogue. They include publications on communism, the Soviet Union, industrial disputes, trade union rights,…
The Marx Memorial Library's poster collection is a unique resource of over 2,000 items. Areas of specialism include the Soviet Union, the Spanish Civil War, Communism, the British Labour Movement…
In addition to collecting archives on the history of socialism and the working class movement, the Library maintains its own archive. This material, dating back to the Library’s foundation in…
The Morning Star, founded as the Daily Worker in 1930, is a socialist daily national newspaper. Since 1945 The Daily Worker it has been owned by the People’s Press Printing…
John Desmond Bernal died in 1971 after an active life spent as a scientist and political activist. The Marx Memorial Library had the pleasure of knowing him as its President…
The Spanish Collection held by the MML comprises the archives of the International Brigade Association (IBA), donated to the Library in 1975. The IBA was established in 1938 by the…
James Klugmann (1912-1977) was a historian of the Communist Party. He joined the party in 1933 while at Cambridge University and was Secretary of the World Student Association in the…
  • Through original documents and photographs, Read More
  • This book offers an insider's Read More
  • Order your copy of the Read More
  • Poster celebrating the pilots of Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4